Interview with Author Sylvia Stein

What a great week! I was fortunate enough to sit down with Author Sylvia (Syl) Stein to talk about her journey as a writer. Welcome Syl!

Sylvia Stein

Tell us a little about yourself. When did your interest in writing begin?

First of all thanks so much for having me today!

My name is Sylvia Stein (Syl ) for short and I live in the town of  Fuquay Varina NC in the city of Raleigh with my wonderful husband Jeremy Stein and our three beautiful kids Paul 8, Michael 6 and Consuelo (Connie) 3.

My interest in writing began as early as elementary school.   I clearly remember wanting to be whisked away on some adventure that I had read about in school.  Therefore, in middle school I created stories that would take me on those wonderful journeys.

Tell us a little bit about “Giant Tales: Beyond The Mystic Doors”.

“Giant Tales: Beyond The Mystic Doors” are three-minute stories that were created by 16 authors from our Writer’s Group on LinkedIn started by Heather Marie Schuldt.    This is book One of Three and it features four of my short stories.  All of the stories have different messages and will take you to so many places as a reader.

Giant Tales

If you had to choose, which published author would you consider a mentor?

For me, the published author that I consider a mentor is Melissa Foster.   She was one of the first people I met through the social media  and from day one she has been paying it forward.   Thanks to her I got involved with the “Women’s Nest” then the “World Literary Cafe” /WLC Community and now the fabulous “Melissa’s Awesome Support Team”, where I have met such wonderful people/authors like yourself and many others.  I think our team is wonderful and so great.

Is there a message in your work that you want to convey to your readers?

The message that I would like to convey to all of my readers in my work is to always have faith and never give up.   I always try to teach some type of lesson in my works.

What is integral to your writing?

The integral part in my writing is that I create characters that move the reader and take them on a journey.   My biggest inspiration is my faith and my wonderful family.   My motivation is to always create stories where the reader is able to experience  the journey the main characters were on.

What is the most memorable response you have had about your writing?

The most memorable response that I have had about my writing is when I placed my excerpts of my writing in my blog on WordPress and I received the approval of other authors and writers.

Can you tell us what is coming up for you and where can we find you online?

I am happy to say that being able to have published my first Anthology, has been a dream come true.  So far we have been getting rave reviews on it.   I have two other books coming out with our Writer’s group, the next anthology is due out soon in April and then in the summer will be our third anthology.  

After that, I am hoping to place the finishing touches on my own book called “Battered Mind”. I began this story in 2010 and now I am working on the last draft.  

You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, and my blogs.  I will place those on here so you know where to find me.

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/SylWriter07

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/sylvia_stein07

Book Link on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Professor-Three-Minute-Stories-ebook/dp/B00BGGX24S/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1363790636&sr=1-1&keywords=giant+tales+beyond+the+mystic+doors

Blogs:
http://ssteinwriting.wordpress.com
http://www.networkedblogs.com/blog/syl-stein

Linkedin:
 http://www.linkedin.com/pub/sylvia-stein/44/6a6/283

I would like to take the opportunity to thank Syl for taking time out of her busy schedule to talk with me a little bit about her approach to writing.  Please take the time to check out her work…you won’t be disappointed! :)

About bwitzenhausen

Writer, Editor, Creativity Coach, Artist, Amateur Photographer, Lover of Neuroscience, Armchair Archaeologist & Hubby's Grossly Under-Paid Bass Roadie;)

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Information. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Belinda,
    Thanks so much for having me on your blog. I loved doing the interview!

    Syl

  2. Thank YOU Syl!! It truly was a pleasure! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,112 other followers

