Information

Interview with Author S.G. Lee (@SweetSheil )

Recently I had a chance to interview author S.G. Lee about the release of her new book “Dreams Can Kill” and get some insight on her thoughts on writing. Welcome!

SG LEE Photo

Tell us a little about yourself. When did your interest in writing begin?

My interest in writing began as a child when I read my first book and I wanted to tell my own stories. My first taste with fame I won a speech contest in grade six, a story about my mother’s talking  pet crow.

Congrats on your new release! Tell us a little bit about your new book Dreams Can Kill.

 “Sharron Alexander has awoken with no memory. Sharron vaguely recalls the shooting in dreams and knows someone shot her and left her for dead. Sharron must remember or she will learn Dreams can Kill!”

DREAMCANKILL Cover

Available at  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/373190   (Smashwords)

and

http://www.amazon.com/Dreams-can-Kill-S-G-Lee-ebook/dp/B00GCI7AKM   (Amazon)

Although both are important, what is the most important thing for you when writing your novels~ the characters or the plot?

I can’t choose; I focus on both.  I want the character to be revealed layer by layer so the reader will grow to like the character and care about that character and the situations they might find themselves in. In order to create believable characters, the author must live in their minds, experience their emotions, and in essence be the character. The plot is also important because you really can’t have a story without it. You need to carefully nurture it and make it all make sense.

Do you outline/plot or do you prefer to just see where an idea leads you? Has your process changed from when you first started?

I outline the main premise and then let the story take it from there. The muse often decides the story should go another way. My process has changed in that I edit more as I go along.

Do you ever get writer’s block?  If you do, how do you get through it?

Yes of course, I think every writer does. I do something else whether going for a walk or watching something enjoyable, or reading a book in another genre to distract me.

What genre are your books and what draws you to this particular genre?

My books are in mystery and paranormal. I love mystery because it presents a puzzle the reader has to solve. Paranormal just appeals to me because it presents the reader with different scenarios and situations that make you think.

What books and/or authors have most influenced your life?

When I was a child I read ’What Katy Did’ and I greatly admired Katy and how she overcame a physical disability and how she learned patience. This helped me when I had my own medical challenge at age eighteen.

If you could spend a vacation with one of your characters which one would you choose?

Sharron~ I identified with the main character. I lived with that character in my mind as I wrote about her life. She became like a sister or close relative to me.

Can you tell us what is coming up for you?

I have recently written and e-pubbed short story anthologies for Christmas and Hallowe’en. Available only at Amazon.

Banner

http://amzn.to/1CiVQ6z     &    http://amzn.to/1ryxciM       &        http://amzn.to/1qq5BKy

 

I am also working on three other projects:

I am also working on a murder, mystery, paranormal book tentatively called “Third Eye”:

Mary Katherine Kendall survived a horrific sinking of the ferry the Victoria on May twenty fourth, 1881 in London, Ontario only to fight back for her health and to find she now sees ghosts. Katherine must now accept the changes in her life. Katherine meets a handsome policeman as ghosts seek her help to solve their problems and murders, and she seeks to hide her abilities from all lest she be judged insane.” 

This book expected out 2016.

I am working hard on an idea for a follow up to A Diller a Dollar A Really Dead Scholar which I am outlining called “Betty Blue Lost her Holiday Shoe” . This book is expected out in 2015 .

Lastly,  I started working on a book loosely based on my grandmother’s life, but due to unknown facts about parts of her secretive life, that I am unable to obtain; I have decided to fictionalized the story changing names and situations to protect people and advance the story. This book is called “As the Blackbird Sang”. This book is expected out in late 2016.

Where can we find you online?

You can find me at:

http://sheilaghlee.blogspot.com/    (writing blog)

http://poeticyearnings.blogspot.com/    (my poetry blog)

My Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/SGLee/833668436645335

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/SweetSheil

I understand you wish to give one lucky reader you’re e-book Dreams can Kill

That’s correct. If the reader likes or leaves a comment below they will be entered to win. The contest will end next week.


Thanks so much for taking time out to speak with me! Sounds like you are one busy lady!