Information

Interview with Author Emerald Barnes

Tell us a little about yourself and your work.

Hi, Belinda!  Thanks for having me today.

I’m Emerald Barnes, a young adult author with two books published so far.  I started writing when I was in high school, but I hate what I wrote back then.  With lots of practice and wonderful writing teachers in college, I learned more about the best way to write.  However, the longer I’ve been in the game, the more I’ve learned.

I’m the author of Read Me Dead and Piercing Through the Darkness.  I mainly write suspense/thrillers in the YA genre but dabble in other genres.

I’m constantly working on new novels and have more ideas than I know what to do with.  I blog at yaindie.com, emeraldbarnes.blogspot.com and ebarnes23.wordpress.com which takes up more of my time than I anticipate, but I love it so very much!  I’m also a volunteer at the World Literary Cafe which is so amazing!

I’m an auntie to two beautiful nieces and two handsome nephews who take up the other half of my time, but I couldn’t imagine spending my time in any other way!

I’m a Whovian, a little bit of a nerd, a reader, writer, and a family-oriented person.  God is number one in my life, and I thank Him continuously for His love and favor. 

What does your writing practice look like? How has this practice changed from when you first started?

Well, my writing is kind of sporadic.  I write when I’m able to, but I usually try to make time each day, unless something is going on with my family.  But, I’m generally a “pantser”.  I write by the edge of my seat, unless I get stuck.  If I do get stuck, I tend to sit down and write until something makes sense, and I know where the story is going.  But yes and no when it comes to changing; it has changed some but not very much.  I pants more now than I used to.  I don’t know why, but planning just isn’t in my book now.

You have two published novels – “Piercing Through the Darkness” & “Read Me Dead”, as well as numerous short stories; do you have one in particular that holds a special place in your heart?

This is a difficult one to answer because I love every single one of my books.  However, I have to say, a book I’m currently working on, a romantic suspense titled The Double Dare Bridges, has a special place in my heart.  I’ve been writing it since I finished high school, and it’s finally coming together for me.  I absolutely love it, and I cannot wait to finish it and share it with the world.

What one piece of advice could you offer someone who is just starting out as a writer?

Learn how to be subjective with your own writing.  I can be subjective when I read other writers’ works, but I cannot for the life of me seem to be as subjective with my own work.  I’m working on it, and I’m getting better.  It’s important though to understand what you need to cut and what you need to keep to make your work the absolute best it can be.

What is your outlook on writing and life?

My outlook on life and writing is very similar.  No matter what happens, life goes on.  Rejections hardly mean anything because eventually you will succeed and, neither should be something you worry about.  Things have a way of panning out.  It just takes a little patience, determination and never giving up.

Where can we find your work?

You can find me here:

Website

Blog

Inspiration Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Google +

Amazon Author Page

Buy Links

Read Me Dead

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Createspace

Nook

Kobo

Smashwords

Read Me Dead Trailer

Piercing Through the Darkness

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Createspace

Kobo

Nook

Piercing Through the Darkness Trailer

A big Thank You to Emerald for taking the time to answer a few questions for us! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Interview with Author Emerald Barnes”

Leave a Reply

