Information

Interview with Author Sass Cadeaux

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing brilliant author and amazing woman, Sass Cadeaux. Welcome Sass, thank you for agreeing to this interview ~we can’t wait to learn more about you and your wonderful work.

Sass Bio Pic

Tell us a little about yourself. When did your interest in writing begin?

Like most writers, my love for the craft began at a very young age. I am the youngest of a large family, which meant that most privileges, like watching TV or going somewhere fun, was reserved for the older children.

I was twelve when I saw my first bookmobile and fell in love with all the incredible adventures. For the longest time, I used to say I was going to be a librarian and drive around the world sharing books with children whose families could not afford to buy them.

What are your thoughts on writing a book series? You have written five books in your COTS series; tell us a little about the series and the inspiration behind it. 

The COTS Series is a fantasy romance series where supernaturals of all kinds walk among humans. A group of enforcers entitled, “The Coalition of the Supernatural” ensure that all beings, including humans, follow the laws. The adventure begins in Canada and tours throughout America, and around the globe.

COTS revised

What is the most important thing for you when writing your novels, the characters or the plot?

To me, they are both equally important. Without a good plot, the story would feel more like a textbook rather than an escape from reality, and without realistic and relatable characters, the readers would not have the intimate connection that helps make the adventure truly memorable.

 Do you outline/plot or do you prefer to just see where an idea leads you? Has your process changed from when you first started?

The first thing I do is outline the premise. However, I am puppet and in little time, the characters take hold of the strings and tell me where the story will go. 

Do you ever get writer’s block?  If you do, how do you get through it?

Yes, I have experienced writer’s block. It usually happens when I have deadlines to meet. If anyone knows a way to avoid it, please let me know!

One of the ways I deal with writer’s block is by opening my slush file and diving into a story I have not touched in years.  The slush file holds stories for my eyes only. Those stories helped me through the hard times, and they still do.   

What genre are your books and what draws you to this particular genre?

I gravitate towards fantasy, although I have written thriller and romance. What I love about fantasy is how the most unrealistic situation becomes believable, and, if only for a few hundred pages, the stress and pressures of real life seem to melt away.  

 What books and/or authors have most influenced your life?

As a child, Nancy Drew was my inspiration. I also had a crush on the Hardy Boys.  As a teen to my early twenties, on the day a Steven King novel was released, I was the first in line to buy it. Then a friend lent me her Dean Koontz novel and I was hooked! To this day, I love his work. He is one incredible author. 

Secrets

Can you tell us what is coming up for you and where can we find you online?

The COTS Series is in the process of being transferred and will be available on Amazon.

The Secrets of Albion Falls — The Secrets Series — Volume One, is currently available on Amazon.  

What’s Hidden Within — Volume Two, is nearly complete.

You can reach me online through the following links.

BLOG ~ http://sasscadeaux.blogspot.ca/

AMAZON PAGE ~ http://tinyurl.com/mh9bvpd

EMAIL~ Sass@sasscadeaux.com

FACEBOOK ~ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Sass-Cadeaux/207969792549241

TUMBLR ~ http://sasscadeaux.tumblr.com/

TWITTER ~ http://twitter.com/_sasscadeaux

WEBSITE~http://www.sasscadeaux.com/

Thank you for this opportunity Belinda.

 To learn more about Sass, please check out her links, not to mention her fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

