Information

Quote of the Week via www.BelindaWitzenhausen.com ~ January 10th, 2014

ink “This is for all the late-bloomers in the world. Writing is not like dancing or modeling; it’s not something where if you missed it by age 19 – you’re finished. It’s never too late. Your writing will only get better as you get older and wiser. If you write something beautiful and important, and the right person somehow discovers it, they will clear room for you on the bookshelves of the world – at any age. At least try.” ~Elizabeth Gilbert

20 thoughts on “Quote of the Week via www.BelindaWitzenhausen.com ~ January 10th, 2014”

  1. Thanks for your great extension of my baseball metaphor. You might enjoy looking at the Boomer Bits and Bytes site, which used to be www. geezerguysandgals., which is organized and written by people like us. I think at our age the process, the doing of the writing, is what counts; never mind the outcome.

    Like

  2. This quote is so inspiring, and so true. I honestly do not think my writing would have had the depth and insight if I’d started in my younger years – but then again, who had the time? I was too busy living the life of a working mother, raising kids (including a set of twins), and trying to figure out who I was.
    I think that’s the key to writing to your potential: knowing who you are and believing in what you have to say. Some of us might attain that goal in our twenties or thirties. For me, it didn’t happen until I was in my fifties.

    Like

  3. Hubert Selby Jr started late in life. Although he never finished high school, he was granted an honorary degree by the Cal State Univ. and taught at the Los Angeles campus. he wrote “Last Exit to Brooklyn,” and “Requiem for a Dream.”

    Like

  4. Love the fact that we can be any age to write, so true. I think writing is like dancing on paper and I think writers can be fabulous at any age, young or old. The beauty about writing when we are older and bolder is that we have the experiences to write about. I hope to get my first novella out this year and it would be great to be writing in our 90’s if that’s what we want to do.

    Like

  5. My husband used to encourage me to continue writing (I was at the time raising five children) by reminding me that a writer I admired hadn’t started writing until after he was forty. I have always ‘written’ but not for publication. In June of 2013 my first book was published “And There Was War in Heaven.” I was eighty. I have another ready to go titled “From Faith to Faith” and am working on compiling a book of my poetry titled “Poetry that Shows God’s Nature.” If you want to be a writer, write every day, that is the ingredient you must cultivate.

    Like

    1. Brilliant Marie!!! 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing, I have been trying to convince a few people to start but they are convinced it’s too late for them…I keep telling them that’s nonsense…I will make sure to show them this! Good luck with your new release, keep me posted! 🙂 Wishing you a wonderful week!

      Like

    1. My mantra! I didn’t really get serious about my writing career until I turned 50, and realized what it was that would fill the hole in my life. Never give up!

      Like

  6. Reblogged this on johnomason and commented:
    I go by the quote by George Eliot, “It is never too late to be what you might have been.” I agree. You have been sidetracked in you goals for some reason or another, but you still have time to attain them. And what IS “age?” I don’t FEEL “old,” so how DOES “old” feel? There is Never a time clock on your dreams.

    Like

  7. I like this post. I think the same way too. Write and keep on writing. Create anything you like. This is how the brain is. Some people don’t create, because they are afraid of failure. There is no failure in creating art. There is fun. I write for the joy of it.

    Like

  8. I really loved this post. It is true in so many ways. Of late, I have sifting through my writing and more so my ideas. They certainly alter as you get older, wisdom speaking through a blank page…

    Like

  9. The quote hits home with me. I started writing newspaper and newsletter columns at 73 and have just completed my first book. I consider myself a columnist, not an author, as I write mainly baseball articles and my book ‘From Beer To Beards, Boston Baseball’s 2011-2013 Roller Coaster Ride’ is just that. However, I get much pleasure from knowing that my writing is being enjoyed by others. I also have a blog, again about baseball, baseballworldbjt.com, which provides me with a challenge to come up with new ideas constantly. Age does not preclude writing but writing can delay aging.

    Like

  10. Anybody out there still trying for recognition at age 90? I’ve had six books published—one with a university press. Two biographies and four novels. They’re all out there, but not setting the world on fire.

    Like

Leave a Reply

