Information

Interview with author Wendy Nystrom ( @wbnystrom )

Recently I was fortunate enough to interview wonderful author Wendy Nystrom, Welcome Wendy! 🙂

WN profile pic

 

Tell us a little about yourself. When did your interest in writing begin?

I have written 5 children adventure books. James and Syvok adventures ages 7-12.
I am 51, married for 21 years, and I am blessed with three wonderful children. I have moved around a lot. I was born in St, Paul, MN. Moves Austin, TX, Moscow, ID, Alamosa, CO, Corpus Christi, TX, Bloomington, MN, Akureyri, Iceland, Shepherdstown, WV, and currently live in Big Rapids, MI. I started writing 2005 while living in Iceland. We lived in wonderful Iceland for two years.

amongst the clouds book 4

Tell us the inspiration behind your books.

My writing career started while living in Iceland. You don’t see the moon every evening like you do in USA. My kids would get excited every time they saw the moon. One evening my son noticed the moon sitting on the mountain and told me he was going to climb the mountain and touch the moon. The Next day my imagination was unlocked and I was writing the story and many many more began to come to me rapidly. It is an incredible experience. I have story ideas come to through dreams, when I am driving, someone says something, while attending community meetings etc. My fun adventurous family and friends I have made are also is a big contributor to my writing.

Is there a message you hope to relate through your books?

Enjoy the adventures every day brings you. I hope to open children’s imaginations so they will explore have fabulous new ideas for the future.

What is your favorite thing about writing?

Going into my imaginary world with my imaginary friends, I just love free flow writing. Once I have a beginning and ending the complete story will come to me often rapidly. When writing my night time dreams become spectacular and help me along. I keep notebooks every where.

What do you enjoy least about writing?

Editing but must do it.

Do you ever get writer’s block?  If you do, how do you get through it?

I have had writers block and usually will work on editing and organizing things I have written or blog. I use to rarely have writers block but in March of 2014 I had two bleeding brain aneurisms. I was lucky and my recovery has been amazing. But I no longer can write for long periods of time, so my writing gets interrupted or slowed down. Sometimes what is going in my head will not come out on paper or even voice. I was lucky when I got out of the hospital I was in the process of editing two books with my publisher Anchor Group Publishing. In January of this year I joined a local writers group and the first meeting already has helped me to focus and unlocked some of my stories. Plus I get to enjoy some others stories. I am working on a Urban Fantasy novel called the New Moon Brethren. Which is based on a short story which was published in an anthology a couple of years ago? I would like to two of my main characters Blaze a dragon and Carolyn helped me recover upon returning home. Blaze flew me up to their mountain retreat which is beautiful relaxing place. When I slept they would come to me and took care of my recovery needs. It was wonderful. My 6th children’s is also moving along Magic Carousel thanks to my illustrator Kelly Murray. I asked her to make an illustration of two new characters I will be introducing to get the imagination going and it worked. Now, I just have to adjust that two hours is about as long I remain focused on a project now.

Book Banner

 

What books and/or authors have most influenced your life?
While living in Iceland many of my friends there introduced me to their books about their culture, sagas, legends and folktales.
So many my favorite author is Anne McCaffrey who passed away a couple of years ago. I enjoy Honor Harrington series by David Weber. I love star war books and many more. I like a book to take me away to other places. I do enjoy many genres beside science fiction or fantasy. While earning my urban planning BA though nearly every book used for my classes changed my life.

 

What advice could you offer aspiring authors?
Read and write every day. Do not take it personal when someone critiques’ your work. Take it as someone taking the time to improve your writing. Enjoy the adventures every day brings you no matter what it is.

 

Can you tell us what is coming up for you and where can we find you online?
Well I set my goals to finish my first novel of my New Moon Brethren series. This series is about a secret society created a long time ago to protect all creatures of mother earth as they did before the world had great upheaval due to dragon’s decision not to do what mother earth intended for her unborn child. I also want to finish book 6 of my children’s series Magic Carousel. I am working on second authorpaooza event at our local library when it kicks off the summer reading program in June. Hope to get some opportunities to meet fans. Re-do my website. Plus enjoy my family.

 

https://www.facebook.com/Wendysbookcase
https://twitter.com/wbnystrom
http://www.amazon.com/Wendy-Nystrom/e/B0064V1T0O
http://wendysbookcase.com/
http://wendysbookcase.tumblr.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Kidtales
https://www.facebook.com/LilAnchors
https://www.facebook.com/anchorgrouppublishing

2 thoughts on “Interview with author Wendy Nystrom ( @wbnystrom )”

Leave a Reply

