Information

Day in the life of Author L. L. Hunter ( @llhunterbooks ) ~ Guest Post

Laura L Hunter

Hi, it’s Laura here, but you may know me better as author L.L. Hunter. I write Young adult paranormal and dystopian as well as romantic suspense and crime for adults.

Writing for me is a passion and I am pretty lucky to be able to do what I love and be earning decent money.

I do have another job other than being an author. I work with kids with special needs, which I find very rewarding. As this is a split shift (before and after school hours) I get to write during the day. I have the best jobs!

If I have to go to my non-author job, I wake early, make myself some coffee and go to work. When I get home I brew myself more coffee and head into my office. I check emails and Facebook messages before getting down to writing or book promotion. Promotion stuff usually takes up most of my time as a self publishing author – I say around 70- 80%. Yes, it is not all about writing! Shock!

These days it is almost impossible for a book to get discovered. The most important way for someone to find out about a book is via word of mouth – if you love a book and you feel others will too, tell the world about it!

When writing, I don’t often plan what I am doing. Yes, for some series I may have a clear idea of how the series ends, but not all the stuff in between – the journey, but that’s what I find exciting about writing a book. I get to experience everything alongside my character as it happens. Yes, most of the time THEY run the show. My characters are very persistent and bossy!

I used to not be very good at expanding my world and building my characters. When I started writing books, I could only write short stories. But practice makes perfect, and now I can write novels. Yes, I know my first book was pretty big, but the first draft was absolutely horrible. I had to write that thing fifty thousand times. The version that is currently out today is the product of years of blood, sweat and tears. It felt like I was writing a thesis, and I am very proud of what I have accomplished. You can purchase that piece of my soul here for FREE.

A book I have discovered recently to help me elaborate on my characters and make them feel more real, is The Emotion Thesaurus. This book is amazing! It has all the actions and movements a character could be doing while feeling that emotion. For example: Curiosity. The character could tilt their head to the side, move their body closer to the thing they are interested in knowing more about, asking questions, lingering touch etc. I just love this book and it has helped me greatly. I recommend it to all writers! You can purchase it here.

If you want to know more about my books, my writing process, or if you simply want to know more about my fur kids aka writing assistants. Writing Assistant Heidi, my puppy, would love to say hi!

You can find me in the following places:

Facebook Author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/LL-Hunter/110104129132865

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LLHunterbooks

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/L.L.-Hunter/e/B00B2B701I/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1379386637&sr=8-1

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6559537.L_L_Hunter

Blog: http://llhunter.blogspot.com.au

Instagram: @llhunter

Website: http://llhunterauthor.wordpress.com

Google +: google.com/+LLHunter

I would also love to say hi, so feel free to send me a message.

My latest release: Second Sight, book 2 of the Adelaide Paige Saga is out now.

Second Sight Header

secondsightteaser

APsale

Leave a Reply

