Information

Interview with Author Mari L. McCarthy of @CreateWriteNow

mari-l-mccarthy

 

I am thrilled to  interview Mari L. McCarthy, Founder and Chief Inspiration Officer of CreateWriteNow and discuss her new book Journaling Power! Welcome Mari! 

v3-mccarthy-journaling-2

Please tell us a bit about yourself and your new book Journaling Power.

I’m the Founder and Chief Inspiration Officer of CreateWriteNow.com. It’s also known as The Journaling Power Center: I show people how to use the ultimate holistic health tool–Journaling, to heal, grow and transform themselves. I’ve authored 18 Journaling Power eWorkbooks and created numerous Journaling Power Challenges on topics ranging from Love Your Body to Life Transitions to Spirituality.

I began journaling 18 years ago to deal with a Multiple Sclerosis (MS) symptom flare-up that had caused me to lose most feeling and function on my body’s right side.  I needed a “procedure” (I was a left brain controlled businesswoman) to teach myself how to write with my left hand, like, yesterday. A hypnotherapist suggested Julia Cameron’s “Morning Pages” and I was off. But I soon discovered that my daily pen-to-paper writing therapy practice helped me improve not only my physical health but my psychological and spiritual health as well. I’ve realized many other benefits from this awesome self-healing tool like reconnecting with my creativity, my wisdom and my personal power.

In Journaling Power: How To Create The Happy, Healthy Life You Want To Live I’ve written a self-help memoir that shares my experiences of how I’m using Journaling to heal my diseases and also gives my readers everything (including challenging exercises) they need to set up and keep a Journaling Power Practice.

What was the inspiration behind Journaling Power?

I often get what I call “universal messages” in my Journal and one day, “Journaling Power” came up and later the message, “now is the time to write the book that must be written.” Then I started using my Journal to help me find resources to mentor me as I’d never written a “real” book before.

What does your average work/writing day look like?

First thing after showering, I do my ambidextrous Morning Pages, breakfast (I’m a pesca-vegetarian and eat only non-processed food, thanks to Journaling). Then log onto my computer and do 250-500 words in my Daily Page account. Then onto writing blog posts and other writing projects. In the afternoon, I meet with clients and finish the day with a page of Night Notes which helps me express my gratitudes and turn off the brain so I can enjoy a night of healing sleep and dreams.

What are some of the biggest challenges you face as a writer and how do you overcome them?

I’d say my biggest challenge is me. I’m so experienced at self-sabotage etc. I find the best thing for dealing with my “issues” is to keep to my routine Monday through Friday and make my weekends for me, my inner kids, singer and artist only.

What message do you hope your readers walk away with after reading your book?

That they have the power, creativity, wisdom and intelligence to create the life that they want to live. That they have a free therapist in their Journal that will help them to eliminate the baggage they’ve been carrying around since childhood, reconnect with their true self (the one they came into this life with!) and live, love and laugh. A lot.

Can you tell us what is coming up for you and where can we find you online?

My Journal and I are discussing my next self-help memoir, Thinking With My Heart (working title). It looks like it’ll focus on healing our physical diseases and becoming our own healthcare advocate/provider, partnering with healthcare professionals to reduce doctor visits and drugs and become and stay healthier longer.

I’m at www.CreateWriteNow.com.

Leave a Reply

